skip to main content

2017 National Blue Ribbon School

2017 U.S. Department of Education National Blue Ribbon School
On September 28, 2017, U.S. Education Secretary Betsy DeVos, announced the 2017 National Blue Ribbon Schools. Arlene Hein Elementary was one of 23 schools in California selected for this honor. This coveted award honors public and private elementary, middle, and high schools where students achieve high learning standards or are making notable improvements in closing the achievement gap. Arlene Hein is among 342 schools selected nationally by the U.S. Department of Education. In its 35-year history, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has presented this award to more than 8,500 schools.
EGUSD Superintendent, Christopher Hoffman, Mrs. Lynne Mayer, principal, and Mrs. Ricanne Roberts, second grade teacher will attend an awards ceremony in Washington D. C. on November 7th. They will be presented with a Blue Ribbon School plague and flag during the ceremony. Upon their return, the plaque will be proudly displayed in the school office while the flag will be hung daily on the school flagpole. Look for these special awards in November.